“You won’t remember what it was like before kids.” I call BS!

image1 (6).JPG

Now that I’m almost 6 weeks into fatherhood, the one phrase I have heard repeatedly is “You won’t remember what it was like before kids.” My usual response is “I have a good memory.” I’m not trying to be snarky and the people giving advice are well intentioned, but it’s made me realize that we can learn from every season of life. We all remember college, our first date, our first adventure…and hopefully we learned something from each.

That’s why I hope I never forget the season of life before I had my daughter (as much as I love her). Here’s what I hope I don’t forget AND still incorporate into my post-kid life:

  • Community:
    • It’s said we’re the sum of the few closest people around us. I think that’s true and my wife and I are grateful for a strong community of friends who not only allow us to have fun, but also challenge us to be the best we can be. We still live with two other roommates post-baby and our daughter is better because of it. After all, it takes a community to raise a child.
  • Intentionality:
    • Creating space to achieve our goals is intentionality whether that means reaching out to a friend, setting aside some “me” time, or reading a good book. Life is a little more complex with a kid, but it doesn’t have to be chaotic. I hope my wife and I still create the space to be intentional in pursuing others, thinking through life, and dreaming.
  • Exploration:
    • We live in one of the great cities of the world and there’s so much to explore. Before our daughter, we had plans almost every single night to explore the city with friends. Every week new restaurants are opening. There’s much to the community that makes up DC and we want to invite our daughter into that. Exploration evokes wonder.

Will I forget what it was like before having a baby? Here’s to NEVER forgetting and fueling that memory to raise an even better kid!

Leave a Reply

